Here it is, the last post on this blog my fourth and final best of list. The criteria is fairly simple relying on twenty (+ three honourable mentions) releases I liked. No splitting into genre styles or ranking them numerically. Just simply the art and where to buy it. It’s safe to say 2020 has been overwhelming and this is noted in the amount of lockdown themes, inspired or completed albums. Hopefully this new year will see an easing of the amount of music as it is hard to maintain an open approach to so many releases coming out, it is quite easy to shut down and narrow the focus on a handful.

This list was particularly hard to construct. There were plenty of releases that could have been added (you could have another four releases behind each of these who would also be worthy), but I stayed within the framework of number of releases to match the year. Several labels could have seen multiple releases listed and others were unlucky in just missing out.

As this is my last hurrah, I would like to extend my thanks to the labels, PR companies and artists who sent things my way. Some of these kind people sent physical material my way as well, which is rather costly sending it to the other side of the world. For now I am focusing on my little online store Adrift, At Sea and it would be great if you checked it out. Alright, enough of my rambling and onto the choons.

Phil Tomsett – The Sound Of Someone Leaving (Fluid Audio)

Various / Preserved Sound Artists – “Invisible” (Preserved Sound)

William Ryan Fritch – Solidum (Lost Tribe Sound).

Numün – Voyage Au Soliel (Musique Impossible).

Joshua van Tassel – Dance Music volume II: More Songs For Slow Motion.

Jeannine Schulz – Ground. The Gentle (Stereoscenic).

Awakened Souls – How We Heal (Stereoscenic).

Silent Vigils – Wake (Home Normal).

James Murray & Mike Lazarev – Suññatā (Home Normal).

Rapt – None Of This Will Matter (Z-Tapes).

worriedaboutsatan – Europa (Past Inside The Present).

worriedaboutsatan – Time Lapse (n5MD).

Bobby Legaspi – …For Strange Times (Self-Released).

Clariloops – Mindful Movement (Self Released).

Claire Deak & Tony Dupé – The Old Capital (Lost Tribe Sound).

Tomotsugu Nakemura – Literature (Laaps)

Dawn Chorus And The Infallible Sea – Liberamente (Azure Vista).

John Hayes & Maxy Dutcher – Borealis (Moderna)

Warmth – Life (Archives).

BP Moore – Komorebi (Rhodium Publishing).

Honourable Mentions:

Slow Reels – Farewell Islands (Morr Music)

Various – Twenty Years Away (n5MD).

Amble – Spring Creek Road (Self-Released).

Thankyou and farewell.


One thought on “Best of 2020 and farewell.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s