A Collection of Artists Pt1.

  At this point in time supporting artists is important. With what is going on in the world including lock down, isolating and in some places institutions like the post office closing their doors, music is one of the things can provide an escape from ‘the real world’. So, I have done this post, the … Continue reading A Collection of Artists Pt1.

Machinefabriek – An Interview With Rutger Zuydervelt + FEAN – II.

One of the more prolific artists of our time is Dutch experimentalist Rutger Zuydervelt aka Machinefabriek who also records in various trio, duo and other variations. His music is not one that can be forced into a corner and this is seen through his more abstract compositions and his various soundtrack work for dance, film … Continue reading Machinefabriek – An Interview With Rutger Zuydervelt + FEAN – II.

The Alvaret Ensemble – ea.

  "The Alvaret Ensemble is the improvisatory collective based around Greg Haines (piano), Jan Kleefstra (voice, poems), Romke Kleefstra (guitar, bass and effects) and Sytze Pruiksma (percussion). "Ea" is the group’s third album, after releasing the acclaimed self-titled double debut and the second album "Skeylja" in respectively 2012 and 2014 on Denovali Records. "Ea" was … Continue reading The Alvaret Ensemble – ea.

Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh & Thomas Bartlett – S/T.

The debut of this duo for the Real World label is a series of stories within the larger story. Born out of a recording session for the International Folk band five piece The Gloaming that they are both members of, Ó Raghallaigh and Bartlett were in a recording studio booked for the whole band in … Continue reading Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh & Thomas Bartlett – S/T.

Eilean Rec: May to December 2018.

One of the struggles of doing a blog is attempting to try to cover as much as possible. Sometimes it's easier to whittle down submissions that don't really fit the confines or parameters that I have set up, another thing is to place emphasis on those that have more of a financial implication attached to … Continue reading Eilean Rec: May to December 2018.

Covarino/Incorvaia – Chiodi.

"Chiodi" (Italian for nails) is the third album of Italian improvising duo of Francesco Covarino and Alessandro Incorvaia following from "Granada" (Whitelabrec) and "Perugia" (UK label Preserved Sound, which is the same label as is "Chiodi"). The album once more is a guitar and drums improv duo. However, this time they set about creating an … Continue reading Covarino/Incorvaia – Chiodi.

Dziadosz / Mreñca – Mirage (Reworks) .

Bartosz Dziadosz and Tomasz Mreñca are friends and artists from Poland. They started collaborating on musical projects including the multinational modern classical project The Frozen Vaults, which also includes Harry Towell (Spheruleus, Whitelabrecs), Yuri Murata and Dave Donhau. Mreñca's violin work also appeared on Dziadosz's release with Giulio Aldinucci (who reworks a track on this release) … Continue reading Dziadosz / Mreñca – Mirage (Reworks) .